Usually, in emergency situations, the security officer and/or a dispatcher at the call center will receive the emergency call.
The emergency phone number is set by the company's security officer, but the user can add or change contacts in the app's User Settings that will receive an emergency SMS (in addition to to the emergency call that can't be changed by the user).
Once you press the emergency panic button, your phone will automatically call the emergency phone number that was set by the organization's security officer and it will also send an SMS with a distress message to the list of contacts you set in the User Settings menu.
No. The GPS is turned on only when the app needs to make a connection to the server.
But it is important that once you install the app, you allow the app to access the GPS service through your phone’s Settings.